*    India’s central legislature or union executive is known as parliament. It is the highest law making body in the country. It consists of the president of India and two houses - the Loksabha (House of the people) and the Rajya Sabha (Council of        states). The members of the Loksabha and the Rajya Sabha are called members of Parliament.
*     Articles 52 to 78 of Part V, Chapter l of the Constitution deal with the Union Executive.

    The President :
*     The President of India is the highest executive authority. The Constitution vests in him all the executive powers of the union. All executive actions are taken in his name. He is the head of the state and represents the Republic of india.

(a)     Qualifications :
*     A Citizen of india.
*     35years of age or above.
*     Should not hold any office of profit under the government
*     Should be qualified for becoming a member of the LokSabha.

(b)     Election :
*     The President of India is indirectly elected by the people.
*     The President is elelcted by a body called an Electoral college which consists of the elelcted members of the state legislature and the Parliament.

(c)     Oath :
*     The President takes an oath before assuming office in the presence of the Chief justice of  India.

(d)     Term :
*     The Prsident is elected for five years term. He can seek reelection for another term.

(e)     Salary : 
*     The President of Indian Federation gets a monthly pay of Rs 1,50,000.    
(f)     Removal : 
*     The President may be removed before the expiry of his term through a special procedure known as Impeachment.
*     President can be impeached for violation of the Constitution.
*     The President addresses his registration letter to the Vice - President.
        President of India : At a Glance

(g)     Powers and Functions :
*    The President performs a number of functions. he has vast power to be exercised during normal times as well as in emergencies. These powers, however, are actually exercised by the Prime Minister and the council of Ministers.

(i)     Executive Powers :
*     The Constitution vests in the president of India all the executive power of the central government.
*     The President appoints the prime minister, who enjoys the support of the majority in the Lok Sabha. He also appoints other members of the council of Minister and distributes portfolios to them on the advice of the Prime Minister.
*     The President is the Supreme Commander of the Defence Forces n India. He can declare war, make peace and conclude treaties with other countries.
*     The President makes important appointments. He appoints Governors of State, Chief justice, judges of the Supreme Court and the High Courts. Attorney General, Comptroller and Auditor General, Cheif Election Commissioner, Chairman and members of the Union Public Service Commission and Ambassadors, High c
Read More